PNR Status

PNR Number is a 10 digit number used to check PNR status of your booked ticket. PNR stands for 'Passenger Name Record’ and this record is stored in the database of IR-CRS which is Indian Railways computer reservation system. Do not enter hyphen (-) while entering the PNR Number in the text box as it is not required to know the PNR Status of your ticket.

PNR Status Enquiry is very common. Train PNR status gives the details about the berth status of the ticket booked under railway reservation. Under Indian Railways Reservation System, each ticket has unique number, called PNR number. PNR Status tells the status of your ticket.

PNR Status Live
We book tickets online or offline. The status of the ticket says whether the ticket is confirmed, or under reservation against cancellation or under waiting list. For RAC and waitlisted tickets, Railway PNR Status changes. It is essential for the passengers to know whether the ticket is confirmed or not. Traveling with waitlisted tickets means travelling with a ticket.

You can get the above mentioned information from Railway PNR Status, anytime as PNR Enquiry. In case of cancelled tickets, Train PNR Status gives the following information as addition. CAN / MOD will be added to the PNR status when you modify the ticket. Whenever you check the PNR status, it shows the current status of your ticket.

Indian Railways PNR Status Codes

Railway passengers often confuse with different symbols shown as part of their pnr status. Here is the description for various symbols:
Symbol Description
CAN / MOD Cancelled or Modified Passenger
CNF / Confirmed Confirmed (Coach/Berth number will be available after chart preparation)
CK Tatkal Quota
CKWL Tatkal Waiting List

The difference between normal waiting list and CKWL is that when the normal waiting list moves up it goes to RAC category whereas CKWL means when the waiting list moves up you can expect confirmed berth.

RAC Reservation Against Cancellation
WL # Waiting List Number
RLWL Remote Location Wait List
GNWL General Wait List
PQWL Pooled Quota Wait List
REGRET/WL No More Booking Permitted
RELEASED Ticket Not Cancelled but Alternative Accommodation Provided
R# # RAC Coach Number Berth Number

Example :RS7 51 means You are in RAC(Reservation against Cancellation) and Coach number S7 and Berth-51. Same berth will be alloted to two RAC passeners and they need to share it.

Check PNR Status Live


  • Whether it is one passenger or multiple passengers (maximum 6 passengers) the PNR number remains same for the ticket.
  • PNR remains constant for one ticket, is not changeable.
  • Status of reservation at the time of book remains unchanged. The status advances and may or may not confirm on the date of journey.
  • When one passenger or multiple passenger journey’ is cancelled, it shows the status clearly.